Reviews

Write a YELP review

Flying Fish Company

An Amazing Place

posted Jan 22, 2012, 10:14 PM by Natalie Gildersleeve   [ updated Jan 22, 2012, 10:16 PM ]

A few weeks ago, an email arrived in my inbox from Flying Fish, telling me all about the fresh and frozen selections. I get this every week, but this one I read closely, trying to see if there was anything that sounded good for dinner that night (I was eating with friends).

Dungeness crab, cod, oysters... tuna. Sushi-grade ahi tuna. Ok, stop everything. I figured out dinner.

I made it to the shop after work and checked out my options. Sure enough, Lyf showed me tuna, even holding it up to the light so I could admire its translucence. I bought some catfish for later - because really, why not? - picked up some veggies from the adjoining farmer's market, and took my spoils home.

The tuna was delicious and the catfish (cooked Vietnamese-style) became one of my best creations yet. There's no simpler way to say it: Flying Fish Company is an amazing place.

Posted from Yelp  1/17/2012

Natalie W.

The Best seafood in Portland!

posted Jan 22, 2012, 10:02 PM by Natalie Gildersleeve   [ updated Jan 22, 2012, 10:12 PM ]

Lyf's seafood is fantastic! Have been buying from him since early summer, after reading a ton of reviews trying to find **The Best** seafood in Portland.

This is it! Three words: quality, selection, value.

I've never had anything that is less then superlative. The fresh is **very** fresh, and even his flash-frozen is fresher than much of the "fresh" seafood the gourmet stores sell (after defrosting, check the firm-ness of the flesh and the smell).

His selection is also broader than I've seen in even the high-end grocers: sable fish? sushi-grade? 4-5 kinds of salmon? You betcha!!

Prices are comparable or less than Portland grocers, so Flying Fish is a no-brainer for value.

And:
* it's all sustainably caught;
* Lyf is a local merchant;
* He and his staff go out of their way to give advice and be helpful.

Posted from Yelp  1/20/2012

Latham S.

Struck by the freshness of the product and the passion of the ownership

posted Sep 21, 2011, 9:35 PM by Natalie Gildersleeve   [ updated Sep 21, 2011, 9:39 PM ]

Was back for my third visit for Wahoo, more scallops and more ivory salmon.  My teenage daughter, who is REALLY hard to get a peep out of regarding food, commented, "this is some of the best salmon I have ever eaten".   I could go on about how Dad cooked it perfectly, however, I think I could have botched the cooking and it still would have turned out moist, buttery, super-fresh and delicious.  

I am constantly struck by the freshness of the product and the passion of the ownership.  That goes a long way for a quality shopping, cooking and eating experience.

Posted from Yelp  9 /15/2011

Terry W.
Oh shut up and eat!

The best scallops I have ever tasted

posted Sep 21, 2011, 9:28 PM by Natalie Gildersleeve   [ updated Sep 21, 2011, 9:34 PM ]

Stopped in the new location at 23rd and Hawthorne. First time shopping with this company. The guy working was very nice and knowledgeable. I went home with some scallops and some cooking instructions. I had never made them before. These were the best scallops I have ever tasted, and will be back buying more on a regular basis. They were large and stayed the same size when cooking. Thanks for the cooking tips too!

Posted from Yelp  9 /14/2011

David W.

This place is a FIND!

posted Oct 19, 2009, 5:09 PM by Natalie Gildersleeve   [ updated Jan 22, 2012, 10:17 PM ]


This place is a FIND for anyone who is looking for sustainable, fresh seafood and quality meats.......  and from a cart, no less!

I bought fresh scallops, which were close to or possibly the freshest, buttery, sweet scallops I have ever purchased.  Also got a tasty Ivory Salmon and grass fed hamburger, which was delicious.  

Was very impressed with the knowledge, passion, professionalism and friendliness of the owner.  He is obviously in business to provide the best product he can deliver, all at a reasonable price.  No, not Fred Meyer prices, but you get what you pay for.  I thought the prices were still below what you can get at New Seasons or Whole Foods.

Once again, I was struck by the wide selection, freshness and obvious passion for providing the best in seafood.  Huge thumbs up all around.

Posted from Yelp   6/20/2011

Terry W.
Oh shut up and eat!

I've been missing out

posted Oct 19, 2009, 5:09 PM by Natalie Gildersleeve   [ updated Aug 10, 2011, 12:57 PM ]


Fresh meat from a food cart? One-stop shopping for fish, land meat, farm-fresh eggs and more? Sushi-grade flash-frozen or fresh, flown-in fish options? Oh yes. Only in Portland.

Seriously though, I know Flying Fish hasn't been around that long, but since I've just recently started buying meat from this carnivorous, roving box van I feel like I've been missing out.

Flying Fish splits time between two locations - Hawthorne and 50th (Weds-Fri), and Division and 30th (Weekends) - both obviously in SE. The guy who runs this "cart" is plenty nice, and invites you right in to peruse the fridge and freezer stocked full of delectable animals. His fish selection changes often, depending on what's available fresh that day, while the flash-frozen section seems to be fairly consistent - sushi-grade salmon and albacore, scallops, etc. He also had some oysters last time I was in.

His second freezer is stocked with free-range and locally-sourced meats including game like buffalo and venison. The prices are what you'd expect to pay for high-quality meats.

I have recently started bypassing the fish section at my local grocer and making a second stop by Flying Fish when I need something to throw on the grill. Next up I plan to try out his sushi fish for some at-home sashimi.

Oh, and he takes cash AND cards! Woot! I suspect I'll never be short of fun stuff to throw on the grill this summer!

Posted from Yelp   6/06/2011

Don B.
The Gluttonista. Portland, OR

1-6 of 6